Now, I realise it’s January, and lots of you are abstaining, but you can’t ALL be dry, and, anyway, let’s face it, as a parent, a glass of wine (on a Friday night in particular) is a welcome treat. 

Several Fridays ago I tweeted an *extra Friday night tip*, on top of my usual daily tip for mums and dads, which said when you choose wine, make sure you go for ones with a screwcap because they’re easy to open one-handed – just grip the bottle between your knees. Which quite a few parents seem to have identified with…

Until today, wine guru, blogger and all-round good egg Helen McGinn (see www.knackeredmotherswineclub.com) has provided the tasting notes for my Friday night screwcap wine. Today, for the first time, I’m going it alone (eek). I don’t have any wine qualifications, other than I like drinking the stuff. Oh, and I did a WSET (Wine & Spirits Education Trust) evening class about 10 years ago. So you’re just going to have to trust me on this one! Here goes:

Asda Extra Special Falanghina, 2011 (£6.98, currently on offer at the bargain price of £5). Falanghina grapes are grown in Puglia, which is in the heel of Italy’s boot. A very very drinkable white wine. Dry, with a lovely nectarine aroma and a faint whiff of sherbet, it is, as the label says, ‘like sunshine in a glass’. With just the right level of acidity, it is smooth and oh-so moreish. Would make a great aperitif, perhaps with some pâté on toast.

Chin chin!

TOHC

x

