Very proud of my home-baked muffins!

Very proud of my home-baked muffins!

I have been thinking about one-handed breakfasts lately – things you can successfully put together with a baby in one hand. I’ve managed scrambled eggs, toast (tricky to butter, mind) and porridge. Yippee. There is life after kids. OK, it’s not quite up to The Wolseley standards, (check out their breakfast menu here – OMG!!) but it does us just fine.

I love breakfast. In fact, I often start planning it the night before. Whether it’s soaking porridge oats in water in advance (helps them cook quicker), making pancake batter and sticking it in the fridge to save time, or simply laying the breakfast table to make for an easier morning – I am all about making breakfast easy, and tasty. It sets you up for the day, it’s a chance to sit down together, if only briefly, and just check in with each other.

I like trying new things for breakfast – Spelt Flakes are a new favourite, for instance, and we always have fruit – cut-up apple or orange, or maybe banana or blueberries – and the children drink milk or water. I don’t buy fruit juice. I will drink a cup of Assam tea first thing, and have coffee later on.

So I wanted to share a recipe for something else I like at breakfast: muffins. These banana pecan ones are really easy and not too sweet. The pecans give them a protein kick, which is a good energy booster for kids. You can’t make them one-handed, but you can make them in stages; get the dry ingredients all ready, then the wet, and then simply mix together. And no, you don’t need to be a chef – they are really easy!

Breakfast Banana Pecan Muffins

Makes 10-12

Dry ingredients:

250g self-raising flour

75g pecans, chopped

1tsp baking powder

75g light brown sugar

½tsp cinnamon

Wet ingredients:

1 ripe banana, mashed

1 egg, beaten

50ml honey

100ml vegetable oil

250ml whole milk

Granulated sugar to top. I use Barbados Amber Sugar, which I have written about here before – the granules are large and crunchy and it has a wonderful flavour.

You will need a 12-hole muffin tin

What to do:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200°C/400°F/Gas Mark 6
  2. Sift the flour and baking powder into a mixing bowl and stir in the pecans, the sugar and the cinnamon.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together the wet ingredients.
  4. Combine the dry and wet ingredients in one bowl, mixing swiftly. The mixture can be quite liquid, don’t worry.
  5. Sprinkle some granulated sugar on top.
  6. Fill your muffin cases about three-quarters full, and then bake for 25-30 minutes.

Perfect for a quick breakfast or mid-morning with a coffee.

If you have any one-handed breakfasts you make – do share them.

Have a nice breakfast!

TOHC x

