‘The world is never ready
for the birth of a child’

These lines are from a poem called A Tale Began by Polish poet and Nobel Prize winner Wislawa Szymborska, who sadly died in February 2012. In the poem, she describes how all the practical things that need to be done in life that make having a child seem impossible, and yet, the child will still come, and so she goes on to hope that

‘May delivery be easy,
may our child grow and be well.
Let him be happy from time to time
and leap over abysses.
Let his heart have strength to endure
and his mind be awake and reach far.’

When you have small children there are always practical chores that need to be done. There is always a dishwasher to empty, a washing machine to put on, a pile of washing to sort, endless stuff to put away, an email to be written, a meal to cook. I am as guilty as the next mum of saying ‘In a minute’ or ‘Yes, I am coming’ or ‘Just give me a moment’ but I am going to try, in 2013, to pause, to give my children my attention and to embrace their funny, sweet and crazy little projects, games and words. In order to do this, I am going to carry on developing and writing quick, easy recipes in an effort to give myself more time with them, I am going to try to get organised in my home and work life so I don’t feel pressured, I am going to stop trying to do three things at once. But if I can’t always do this, then I am not going to feel guilty either. I am going to press the pause button and enjoy the moment. The dishwasher can wait, that recipe can be written when they’re asleep, work will still be there tomorrow; my children are here now and I want to be ready for them.

Happy New Year to you and your children and wishing you good times together,

More recipes, gadgets and tips soon.

TOHC

x

