Good old Bridget

Good old Bridget

Too many st (but intend to start juicing kale v v soon), alcohol units 2½, cigarettes – stopped that nonsense years ago, calories 2,280, kids 2 (v.g.)

Is it really 17 years since Bridget Jones’s Diary was published? 17 years!? I can’t believe it. Back then I was a naïve 21-year-old, still at university, living a life of very little responsibility – basically all I really had to do was get myself up and out of the house to go to lectures (and even then I didn’t always manage it). OH HOW TIMES HAVE CHANGED. I’ve changed, Bridget’s changed, Mark Darcy is apparently dead – which sent Twitter into meltdown – whatever next?

I for one can’t wait to read Mad About the Boy. There was an interview with author Helen Fielding in the Independent a few months ago, in which she said (speaking of the 14-year gap between the last Bridget Jones novel she wrote and this new one) ‘I sort of lost my voice with Bridget for a long time after the unexpected success when it first came out. It was very easy to write and be honest, then I got all self-conscious.’

I think this is interesting from a blogging perspective. It takes time, but you will find your voice. And once you’ve found it, stay true it. Be authentic. Be yourself. Write from the heart. Tell it like it is. Be like Bridget. Or maybe not…

‘Since leaving work I have nearly slipped a disc wheezing through a step aerobics class, scratched my naked body for seven minutes with a stiff brush; cleaned the flat; filled the fridge, plucked my eyebrows, skimmed the papers and the Ultimate Sex Guide, put the washing in and waxed my own legs.’

From Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

Here’s hoping Helen Fielding is back on form – I have every confidence. I need a good laugh!

Thanks for reading.

TOHC

x